Daily Archives: March 26, 2011

Theater, Musicals, & Drag Shows..oh my…. by Sylvia

So when last we spoke I had lost two dear friends of mine.  Sometimes “busy” helps deal with “sad.”  So I have continued expanding my culture horizons by attending local performances in the Central Florida area. I wish I had more time and money. Happy to report that we still have incredible talent here in Orlando. I feel that is such good news to those of us for whom  a trip to  Broadway is not in the cards.  The local talent we have is remarkable.

I enjoyed a stellar performance of “The Diary of Ann Frank” at Breakthrough Theatre. The black box theater lends itself to the intimacy you feel as though you are in the attic with them. The street noises and the train passing by all add to the ambiance and made for a moving piece.  My other theatrical experience for the week was “Equus.” The show was phenomenal.  This performance is not for the weak at heart.  The topic is heavy and it is an adult themed show. No one under 18 is admitted.  Do not let this deter from seeing the show, however don’t go in expecting to see “Arsenic & Old Lace” because that is not happening.  What I experienced is a show that leaves you different for having seen it (In a good way). Next weekend is the icing on my cake.  I’m going to see “Wicked” I have been waiting to see this show for ages. By the time this posts I am sure I will be still reeling in the afterglow of the performance.

Lest you feel I am getting too highbrow, I am happy to say I am hitting the roller derby for some good old fashioned smack down fun.  I also attended other forms of entertainment recently. My multi-talented performer friend Joshua Eads Brown held a fundraiser at the Funky Monkey Wine Company at Pointe Orlando.  What a crazy, fun, night.

It does not cross my mind how odd the world of artistic people can be until I took my plus one to Johsua’s fundraiser.  To me, a man in a dress lip synching to “Dream Girls” is just a day in the life. To the average person, it’s a bit out of their element.  I give kudos to my plus one. He seems to handle what my life throws at him. I would not be surprised if at times he wonders to himself what in the world he has gotten himself into. I do give him credit for having exceptional manners not to express his concerns.
This month is also spring break for most colleges and since I went forth and multiplied, I just so happen to have college students. I had a house full of college students from all over the country.  My sons were in from OK with friends in tow and my daughter was down from Flagler and her friends have NJ being represented. Such a dichotomy of children from all walks of life, it makes life a bit rambunctious.  They are young energetic and bring an enthusiasm for life. I was busy with rehearsals but we did manage to spend some time together.

Oh yes rehearsals, I am saving the coolest news for last.  While attending “The Diary of Ann Frank” I received a text from Tara Corless the director of “Daddy’s Dyin Who’s Got the Will?” a cast member had health issues and could I step into a role.  I was sorry to hear about the woman’s health but the actor in me did the snoopy dance.  Me? On stage? Yay! Really, who wouldn’t want to be asked?  Well, let me rephrase that, what actor wouldn’t want to be asked? I understand not everyone in the world is a glutton for punishment. We opened March 24 and run for two weekends. I went from a leisurely spring pace to hit the ground running. The cast and crew are delightful and I am so glad to have a chance to work with them.

So I am curious if anyone else feels like this year is flying by? I can’t believe we are almost in April.  Did I blink? Didn’t we just ring in 2011? My birthday is just around the corner so here I sit about to be another year older and hopefully the tiniest bit wiser. It’s hard to believe how much my life has changed in the past few months.  I am eagerly looking forward to what the rest of the year has in store. April alone is going to be a wild month, Fringe, my birthday and I think I am going to be doing tech for my friend Jamaal.  I do like being active. It keeps my mind and my soul young.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized